Well… this turned out to be interesting…

I am now about 2-1/2 weeks into my Hitchcock movie class (hitchcock50.tcm.com) and, since we’re not discussing or watching all of his movies — and some of them are showing at times that aren’t quite convenient for me — I have been watching a few online.

Last night, I watched Rebecca. I’d heard the name of this movie over the years, but had never taken the opportunity to watch it… so this was the first time.

I was actually pleasantly surprised to find that the storyline was quite like a Gothic Romance, akin to Jane Eyre and Northanger Abbey and such.

And then this happened:

  • The first words spoken in the movie are, “Last night I dreamt.”
  • The leading man’s name is Mr. de Winter.
  • When they arrive home, he says to the gatekeeper, “Thank you, Smith.”
  • And at one point, he says this: “She was incapable of love.”

Also, the young woman who loved him thought he didn’t love her, because…

Well, why ruin it for you? Watch it for yourself. Be sure to watch in full-screen mode. (And ignore the subtitles, unless of course you need them.)

My favorite part: I love the moment when she’s dancing dreamily in his arms and he just watches her and smiles.

P.S. I now have a slight crush on young Laurence Olivier. He reminds me a little of Cary Elwes in Princess Bride… (or vice versa) which I also watched recently, over the weekend. I turned it off when my sweet Wesley was on the rack.

But I digress.


P.P.S. I also am quite fond of Mr. de Winter’s best friend in the movie. He’s a keeper.

This is for you, of course.

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

