Good morning, yesterday…


So I’ve been doing some extra housecleaning in my spare time this week…. Last night, I came across a few old calendars I had on my desk at work ages ago. They were filled with all kinds of random notes to myself — lots of lunches and dinners out with lots of different friends. A few movies with family members. Birthday reminders. Work project deadlines. Holidays off. Vacation travel dates. And many notes about when and where certain local bands were performing — my sister and I used to go see certain ones together. (I highly recommend supporting your local rock stars.)

Anyway… below are the few entries I found most interesting… for various reasons. (Please forgive my handwriting.)


Going backward through time….

I have no recollection whatsoever of having taken a ballet class w/my BFF that day in that year. Lunch, I'm sure did happen.
I have no recollection whatsoever of having taken a ballet class w/my BFF that day in that year. Lunch, I’m sure, did happen. (Update: Upon reading this post, my BFF reminded me that we watched a Washington Ballet performance that day.)
Aww. I got my very first kitty. :-)
Aww. I got my very first kitty. πŸ™‚ Four years later, he passed away at midnight, January 7, 2009. 😦
I didn't go. :-( But apparently tickets were only $25 back then.
I didn’t go. But apparently tickets were only $25 back then. Play.
I am sorry to say that I never saw my BFF perform in
I am sorry to say that I never actually saw my BFF perform in “The Nutcracker” with her dance group, since she now comes to see me and my daughter dance in it every year…
... nor did I get to see this band play. Most likely, I didn't have anyone to go with and didn't want to go downtown by myself.
… nor did I get to see this band play. Most likely, I didn’t have anyone to go with and didn’t want to go downtown by myself. There was a sniper on the loose at the time, if you recall…. Play.
I did, however, see this band with my sister. I remember it really well. I wore my favorite pink shirt and Richard Butler shook my hand. He tried twice from the stage during the show, but couldn't do it safely. Finally, he crossed over a bunch of wires and smiled a huge smile at me when he finally reached me in the end. :-)
I did, however, see this band with my sister. I remember it really well. I wore my favorite pink shirt and Richard Butler shook my hand. He had tried twice from the stage during the show, but couldn’t do it safely. Finally, he crossed over a bunch of wires and smiled a huge smile at me when he finally reached me in the end. πŸ™‚ Play.
First, I love how I wrote this note on the wrong date. It must've been a sign. :-P I have written specifically about this evening before, so I shan't do it again, but I will sum it up this way:
This is another evening I remember very well, but I’d forgotten when it actually happened. My favorite part of this note is that I wrote it on the wrong page. Hmm. Anyway, since I have written about this evening before, I shan’t go into the details again, but I will share that the reason I went to the show that night was because the lead singer knew someone I loved… and I had no other way to reach him. It was worth a try. Play.

Yep. That’s about as interesting as it got. After 2004, it appears I stopped writing calendar notes. I know why. Do you? πŸ˜‰

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

