Thinking ahead….


Recently, my nine-year-old daughter told me her plans for the future. It went kinda like this:

Daughter: “We need to move to Pennsylvania.”

Me: “We do?” I’m not against it, just asking. “Why?”

Daughter: “I want to go to Pitt.”

Me: “On vacation? Or….”

Daughter: “No, like you did. I want to go to school there.”

Me: “Is this because I was wearing my Pitt sweatshirt yesterday?” I’ve had it since the days when I attended college there.

Daughter: “No. I like the way you made it sound. I want to go there.”

Me: “Oh. Well, then you’re right. We need to move to Pennsylvania…” before it’s too late for me to have the slightest chance of qualifying you for in-state tuition. (Yes, I know. It’s already too late.)

Daughter: “And I want you to be my roommate.”

Me: “Umm… I’m pretty sure when you’re in college, you’re going to want someone other than your mother as your roommate.”

Daughter: “No. I only want you.”

Me: “Well, okay. Fine. This might work out after all. I can sign up for a few classes and learn something new.”

Daughter: “No. You can’t take any classes.”

Me: “I can’t? If I’m living in the dorms, I’m pretty sure I should be enrolled in something.”

Daughter: “No.”

Me: “Well then, what am I supposed to do all day? The cooking?” That’s what your meal plan is for….

Daughter: “No. You can just watch TV all day.”

Me: ??? “Why don’t you ask your BFF if she wants to go to Pitt. Maybe you can talk her into it.”

Daughter: “Ooh! Then we could ALL be roommates together!”

Me: Er, that’s not quite where I was going with that.

Daughter: “So can we move? And I really want to live in a big house, too.”

Me: “Sure. I’ll get right on that. Start packing.”

You never know….

๐Ÿ™‚

2 Comments Add yours

  1. rebbit7 says:

    I found this post funny! And I really think that you should move to Pennsylvania. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    1. Cath says:

      Thanks. ๐Ÿ˜‰ We shall see what the future holds for us….

      Like

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

