Sunday, Nutty Sunday…


The end is nigh. The end of my Nutcracker performances, that is.

So far, in the first two shows, I have managed not to completely topple over on stage. There have been some near misses, though. My dance partner just rolls his eyes and laughs at me. In other words, he’s quite unhelpful. We are fully expecting me to fall into the Christmas tree at some point. Of course, my BFF and her mother claimed not to notice I was having any issues at all. “We thought you were just having fun at the Christmas party,” they told me.

Backstage, there have been a few issues of note, as well. I won’t go into any details, but… I will mention that there are a couple of women who cannot keep their hands to themselves. One keeps grabbing my hair and face for no reason, and the other keeps attempting to get my attention by placing her hands on my legs or arms or whatever else she can reach. This might not concern me so much if these people were friends of mine, but… they are barely acquaintances. Agh.

Anyway… all of the above has been trumped by the dream I had last night about my Ghost — a dream of which the overtones were a bit… depressing. (Sigh.) Although I do recall it completely (it was a fairly long dream), I will keep most of it to myself. However, I will share one scene:

There was a stack of six CDs sitting on the edge of a table. From the other side of the table, my Ghost said, “Choose a song.”

“Why?”

“I want to know what you’d pick.”

I looked cautiously through the stack, glancing briefly at them, then pulled out one disc and placed it in his CD player. I forwarded it to the song of my choice and pressed play.

As it filled the air, he laughed. “Why did you pick that one?”

“It just made sense to me,” I offered.

“The line where he says ‘[song lyric]’ is brilliant, isn’t it?” he remarked.

“I don’t know. I’ve never heard it before.”

He just stared at me incredulously.

“You do realize the only reason I know who any of these bands are is because of you, right?”

“Then… that’s a little odd.”

“Why?”

“The song you chose is my favorite,” he confirmed, slightly befuddled.

“I know,” I told him.

“How could you know if you’ve never heard it before?” he challenged, but not because he was confused.

“I know you.”

— END SCENE —

Back to “The Nutcracker”. 

Today, I finally get to watch Act II (after I whip off my costume in a flash once I leave the stage)… so I will have the chance to see my Ginger daughter in her routine, as well as the Sugar Plum Fairy and Cavalier and, if I’m quick enough, Snow.

Then life will return to normal. Well, as normal as it can be during the holidays… and in general.

🙂

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

