CRAFT: Painted Glass – Rose and Hydrangea


Front Door Painted Glass Window
My front door. (I know the lines are wobbly.)

When I bought my townhouse about a decade ago, I attempted to create an English cottage ambiance by adding a stained glass pattern to the window on my front door. Recently (yes, my brain kicked in more than a decade later), it occurred to me that I could add a stained glass effect to my kitchen windows, too. But I didn’t want to mess up my real windows. Luckily, I found two 18″x24″ frames at Michaels craft store in the clearance section for $10 each (regularly $40 each — score!).

Granted, the “glass” in the frame is actually a sheet of thin plastic, but still…. it’s clear. It’s also lighter weight (for hanging purposes) than glass. And it can’t break if/when my cat swats at it and knocks it down.

Here’s what you need to make something like this, if you’re so inclined: Plaid® Leading Lines, a bottle of Liquid Leading, multiple small bottles of Gallery Glass paint and something to paint on.

Leading lines
I started by plotting out my design…
Faux stained glass rose design
Then, I added leaves and a rose in the middle…

At first, I thought I would make two identical roses, facing opposite directions, but after I finished creating the first rose, I decided to give a cluster of hydrangea blossoms a whirl instead.

Plotting out the hydrangea
To make things easy on myself, I copied the pattern of the straight lines onto my second “window” so they’d match…
Hydrangea design
… and I attempted to create a hydrangea cluster.

Then I gave my hands a much-needed break! Cutting up and shaping the sticky leading lines is the hardest part. (The dim lighting in that last photo is because I was working well into the evening plotting out the design….)

When the designs were complete, I went back over the “intersections” of the leading lines with liquid leading to secure the ends and (hopefully) make the design resemble the soldering of real stained glass.

Then I started coloring everything in using these paint colors: Ivy Green, Lime Green, Charcoal Black, Morning Glory, Amethyst, Sunflower, White Pearl, Crystal Clear, Berry Red and Ruby Red.

I also placed a few clear glass beads here and there, just to add some dimension and extra sparkle. Then I set them aside to dry… for a few days.

Et… voila!

Hydrangea Window - FullRose Window - Full


In the end, I think they came out fairly well, although I had some paint bubble issues. The colors are pretty when the sun shines through them. All that’s left to do is add a ribbon hanger and hang the frames in front of my kitchen windows. 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. this is lovely !

    Like

    1. Cath says:

      Thanks! 🙂

      Like

  2. Aussie Mummy says:

    They look great!! I can’t wait to try and make one myself… I’m thinking a purple iris to go above my bed 🙂

    Like

    1. Cath says:

      Sounds pretty. Have fun. 🙂 And thank you!

      Like

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

