She fell in love with a swan…


Here’s a poem I wrote that I think doesn’t make any sense. But, then… what else is new? 😉

I was digging through old boxes again (as usual), and found this. I remember writing it long ago, and thinking at the time that it was a bit strange. Not unlike the song itself. What song???

I’d heard Donovan sing “Lord of the Reedy River” in the movie If It’s Tuesday, It Must Be Belgium. I would provide a link for you, but I think the melody (not the lyrics) is kinda creepy, so I’ll let you dig it up on your own. (I am 99.5% certain that it was the only scene of the movie I managed to watch.)

Anyway, this was the effect it had on me…:


2 April 1989
By Cath

She fell in love
and
He fell away from her side
as she lay in bed
With her hand attempting to touch
the man who was no longer there

She closed her eyes
and
Imagined he’d left her
to sleep as he found them a
breakfast of strawberries and roses

They were quite a pair

She fell in love
and
He fell asleep at her side
as they lay in bed
With hands that could not touch or reach
her clothes strewn about the chair

She closed her eyes
and
Imagined he’d return to her
to share his love
and a lifetime of flowers in the spring

It wasn’t fair

She fell in love
But he didn’t fall for it


Now, I will listen to this song…
to get the creepiness of the
other one out of my brain:
Thanks, Kate.

 

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

