Some haunts are bigger than others…


I consider seeing my Ghost at Target a few weeks ago a big haunt. By comparison, this one is fairly small.

This incident actually happened a couple weeks ago, but I was reminded of it this morning when I was downstairs in the eerily empty cafe at my office. I was standing in front of the toaster waiting for my slice of crispy golden brown rye bread to slide down the ramp at the back when I looked over to my left at the empty shelves in the drink refrigerators… and remembered….

One fateful day, not long after the Target event, I had been working at my computer for hours upon hours when it suddenly occurred to me that I was thirsty and in need of a snack. After rummaging around in my purse, I discovered I had no coins or dollar bills for the vending machines on my floor, which meant that I would have to venture downstairs to the cafe instead, where I could use my debit card.

On my approach to the set of five elevators, I heard the familiar “ding” of an arriving car. A pair of doors opened before me. The elevator was empty. And it was going my way… down.

I got in, nervously, wondering how I managed to summon an elevator without pushing any buttons… and teased myself that my Ghost was in the car with me. I said hello, hummed The Girl from Ipanema to him, and laughed at myself.

A moment later, I walked out onto the first floor. Across the room from the cafe’s entrance was the display of little bags of chips. I quickly made my selection before approaching the refrigerated drinks, randomly opening a glass door and grabbing the first Coke within my reach. I paid for my items and returned upstairs to my desk, where I set both of them beside me and didn’t touch them or look at them again for at least a half hour.

After working at my computer again for all of those thirty-plus minutes, the Coke bottle reminded me that I was thirsty. I picked it up to move it to a more convenient location so I wouldn’t forget it again… and, in doing so, it spun around in my fingers. That’s when I saw my Ghost again, thanks to Coca-Cola’s current “Share a Coke” campaign.

My Ghost’s name was written on my Coke!

(Of course, it was misspelled, the same way the guy at Starbucks spelled it on my coffee cup last year, but, still….)

Have a Coke and a smile. 🙂

UMM.

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

