One of my lucky days….

This is just a little post to remind myself of a time in my life when events unfolded in my favor…. 😉

“When you’re a winner you’re always happy,
but if you’re happy as a loser you’ll always be a loser.”
– Mark Fidrych

 

In third grade I lived in Michigan. At the time, the Detroit Tigers had a pitcher named Mark “The Bird” Fidrych. It was Career Week at school when the team manager (or someone similar) came in to speak with my class about being part of a baseball team. Upon his exit, he left behind a baseball signed by Mark. One of the students would be the lucky recipient of this baseball. 😉

Mark Fidrych Autograph

My teacher had everyone in the class write their names on pieces of paper, fold them up and stick them into a hat. She shook up the hat while everyone in the class waited excitedly — each of the boys naturally assuming it would be one of them who would win the baseball, not a girl.

I watched my teacher’s face as she pulled out the winning slip of paper. She was silent for a moment. Speechless, maybe. But I could see through the paper she had in her hands. The light was shining in a way that allowed me to make out the letters. Even though they were backward, I could read the word well enough to know it was my name she had pulled out of the hat. I was instantly horrified. Within moments all the boys would be mad at me, saying it wasn’t fair and asking me to hand the ball over to them.

My teacher seemed to be thinking the same thing… but she had to say the name out loud to end the suspense. And so she did, “Cathleen.”

As expected, the boys’ moaning and groaning began instantly. “Her, again?!” they snipped. “She wins everything.”

My thought back then: “Oh, no!” 😦

My thought today: Muuuuaaahahahaha. 🙂

That’s right, boys. The waves obey my every whim. It’s mine all mine. 😉

Baseball Details

Flash forward many, many, many years to a couple of months ago.

I was visiting my parents’ house when my mom randomly reminded me (as she is wont to do), “Your baseball’s still down in the basement.”

Just so you know, I avoid going down into the basement for a variety of reasons — it’s cold clamminess is just the beginning. That is why the baseball was “still” there after so many years. Nevertheless, I daringly ventured downstairs and retrieved the ball, put it in a plastic bag and brought it home.

[The plastic bag was my feeble attempt at slowing down the effects of the ravages of Time on Mark’s signature. My efforts were, of course, a few decades too late, but at least I could say I tried!]

Over Christmas break last month, my mom gave me a little clear square plastic case to put the ball in, so… it is now safely held in that. Yea! 🙂

Baseball Brand

Oh, also… a few years ago, I went to a sports memorabilia show at the Expo Center. (Don’t ask me what I was doing at such an event…. It is quite unlike me to do such a thing.) While I was there, I came across Mark’s baseball card for about $3. So I bought it to “complete” my collection. The card has been in a drawer somewhere in my home ever since, but… as you may suspect, my big plan is to match it up with the ball so they can finally co-exist. 😉

UPDATE 5.24.14: I found Mark’s baseball card! So it is now with the baseball. Yea! 🙂

Mark Fidrych, Card FrontMark Fidrych - Card Back

BATTER UP>> Dance with me.

2 thoughts on “One of my lucky days….

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

