Once a beauty queen…. (Pt. 2)

Read Part 1


Beauty Queens
Ms. Petite VA & Ms. Petite MD*

In 1995, once again I attempted to claim the crown and the state title of Ms. Petite Virginia. This time, I wore a very simple, drapey black, thin-strapped gown as my eveningwear. That’s about all I remember of my pageant shopping that year, but I did get my hair cut for the event. To this day, my hairdresser always remembers me and that moment… and tells me I still look like I’m 20. Bless her heart! (She never even knew me when I was 20.)

Anyway

Q&A Portion of the Competition: I believe this pageant happened around the same time the Miss America Pageant first decided to go shoeless during the swimsuit competition. That topic turned out to be the question I was asked during the Q&A portion of the contest. My answer was something along the lines of this:

“On the beach or by the pool, you would never see a girl wearing high heels, unless they were sandals… so… it makes sense not to wear heels. However, when you’re petite like we are and want to look taller, heels can help you do that. Either way, I don’t think it matters because… in real life… you just do whatever makes sense to you.”

It’s quite possible that I may not have made that much sense on the day of the pageant, but… that was the gist. And, I do think it was slightly better than Miss Rhode Island’s response in Miss Congeniality:

STAN FIELDS (Emcee): “Miss Rhode Island, please describe
your idea of a perfect date.”

MISS RHODE ISLAND: “That’s a tough one. I’d have to say
April 25th. Because it’s not too hot, not too cold. All you
need is a light jacket.”

In the end… I suppose the judges must have taken pity on me for coming back and trying to win again a second year in a row because I did manage to win the title of “Ms. Petite Virginia 1995” that day. Yea! 🙂

Winning Moment
Ms. Petite Maryland and I.*
Posting with trophy, 1995
Yea! I won. 🙂 1995

This time, I left with a tiara, sash, trophy, flowers and an invitation to the national pageant in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee — home of Dollywood!.

TO BE CONTINUED…

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

