Whirlwind weekend….

Where do I begin? πŸ˜‰ Well, this was my theme song for the weekend [yes, I have theme songs for moments of any given day, full weekends, months, years… and people I know and love….]. In this particular song, I really l-o-v-e the juxtaposition of the main vocals against the ones going on in back…. Plus, it’s got a good beat and is easy to dance to. πŸ˜‰

Umm…. What was I talking about again? Oh, yeah….

FRIDAY NIGHT:

Here is where I wanted to be:
.Cryfest - Cure v. Smiths at Black CatHere is where I was instead: My first rehearsal for The Nutcracker! πŸ™‚

Curls
I get to wear these curls!

Well, at least there was still music and dancing involved… and I do love the piece of musicΒ we dance to in the Christmas party scene. We (the Adult Party Guests) actually have two dances. They are short… but there are two of them and I’m on stage for all of Act I (basically). Yea. πŸ™‚

If you’d like a glimpse into my role… this is not the choreography we use, but the Royal Ballet’s is my favorite recorded version of the show. Watch this (starting at the 9:09 mark) to hear the first portion of my dance… followed by the first minute’s worth of this video, for the second half of the music (both videos are part of Dance #1).

Party Shoes
…. And these shoes!

Rehearsal was a blast! I have been assigned a husband who rides a Harley. I know this, not only because I’ve seen him in a helmet on a few occasions, but because the T-shirt he was wearing at rehearsal said “Harley-Davidson” on it. As can be expected, he is quite a bit more “rough and tumble” than Mr. Darcy, and not very unlike Mr. Collins. But… he will do. πŸ˜‰ I actually dance with three different men during the first dance… so, you see, I get to mix and mingle with the other party guests. One even teased me about my “dreamy” eyes. We were supposed to be looking at each other in a jovial holiday manner. It was actually quite hilarious. I cannot wait for the show! Want tickets? πŸ˜‰

SATURDAY:

Ginger GirlAmong many other things… there was my daughter’s first Mother Ginger Girl rehearsal (note, she is not playing a boy!). I also got loaded up with more promotional materials to develop/finalize for the show. (Did I mention I produce the marketing materials for the ballet studio and its performances?) I stayed up till 1am getting stuff done. Sounds like fun, huh? πŸ˜‰

SUNDAY:

Ginger Girl, RidingHorseback riding. Yep. I hoisted myself up onto a horse and rode around on a trail. The one other time I did this was in 1995, I think, at the Marriott Ranch. At that time, my horse’s name was Ned. This time, my horse’s name was “Horsey”. (<<I named it myself. I had no clue if it was male or female.) S/he liked to gallop when I dug my heels in… and we trotted merrily along. I consider it a success, since I wasn’t thrown off or trampled. πŸ™‚ However… I think that will be my last trail ride for a while. Horsey & MeI think I owe it to all the horses in America to stay off of them. I am clearly not made for participating in such an activity on a regular basis. Tonight I’m thinking: Calgon, take me awayyyyy!

Anyway… that adventure was followed almost directly by a nearly 2-hour Ballet board meeting at the studio. Busy, busy, busy… πŸ˜‰

Z-z-z-z-z-z-z-z-zzzzzz…..

 

 

 

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

