It’s more than a feeling…

K-TEL Super Star CollectionAs long as I’m being nostalgic lately, I thought I’d share with you a few of my guilty pleasures. 🙂 Please walk with me now down Memory Lane to 1976-78, when I lived in Michigan; I was in second and third grade. We had moved there from Florida… so it was a bit of a culture shock. Many of our neighbors and friends were either Italian, German or Polish (mostly) — or some other nationality I wasn’t familiar with, with last names I’d never heard before like: Voltaggio, Wisnewski, Gasparetto, Izzi, Belfiori, Buscemi, DiPerno, etc. (There were also proper English names about, such as Thomas, Farris and Burns.)

Seth Thomas Clock
This is just like mine. Click to hear its Westminster chimes.

I remember only a few families who lived on our block. An older German couple lived next door to us on the left. One day, they put a Seth Thomas mantle clock in their trash. It became the first antique I ever appropriated. I’d never seen anything so pretty before… and I couldn’t believe they would throw it away. It chimes (if you so choose) on the quarter hour, or just on the hour. I still love it, even though it needs to be repaired.

The family across the street from our house had boys the same ages as my sisters and I. They had a dog named Princess and a pool in the backyard. There were also teenage girls who wore contact lenses in the house on the other side of ours. I would see them sunbathing in the backyard and think how mature they were to do such a thing. Then there was the couple at the end of the block who played opera music all the time, with their front door and windows open. I never saw any movement inside, which made it all the more intriguing. I’d never heard that kind of music before… so it always fascinated me. I remember riding my bike past their house at times just to listen to it.

Oil Rain Lamp
Something like this.

The Belfioris had girls whose ages matched my sisters and I. They had a dog named Stormy and we often played on the swing set in their back yard. Mr. and Mrs. B. went out disco dancing regularly, which made them the hippest couple on the block, especially since Mr. B. drove some sort of sports car with headlights that could disappear into the hood. If we were lucky, when he was out washing his car, he would treat us to a few rounds of watching the lights go up and down. I remember they ate a lot of spaghetti… and the centerpiece of their living room was an oil rain lamp. I loved watching it! It was mesmerizing.

Anyway… we would typically walk to school on most days, but it was a bit of a hike… so, on occasion, a parent would drive us. I loved it when Mr. B. was that parent, because he had cool music playing in his car. The songs below are the ones I specifically remember hearing either for the first time, or just frequently, during those car rides. And anytime I hear them now, I am automatically transported back into his car, staring out the window, listening to them. (And, yes… I do like all of them.) 🙂

Dust in the Wind – Kansas
“I close my eyes… only for a moment and the moment’s gone.
All my dreams pass before my eyes a curiosity.”

Man on the Corner – Genesis
“What he’s looking for, I don’t know.”

Isn’t It Time – The Babys
“I’ve seen visions of someone like you in my life.
A love that’s strong, reaching out, holding me
through the darkest night.”

Baby Come Back – Player
“You can blame it all on me. I was wrong
and I just can’t live without you.”

Sometimes When We Touch – Dan Hill
“I wanna hold you till I die… till we both break down and cry.
I wanna hold you till the fear in me subsides.”

If You Leave Me Now – Chicago
“How could we end it all this way, when tomorrow comes
and we’ll both regret the things we said today.”

Baker Street – Gerry Rafferty
“Another year and then you’ll be happy.
Just one more year and then you’ll be happy.
But you’re cryin’, you’re cryin’ now.”

New Kid in Town – The Eagles
“There’s so many things you should’ve told her.
But night after night, you’re will to hold her, just hold her;
Tears on your shoulder.”

How Much I Feel – Ambrosia
“And then you both realize just how foolish you’ve been.”

I’m Not in Love – 10cc
“It’s just a silly phase I’m going through.”

More Than a Feeling – Boston
“I lost myself in a familiar song.
I closed my eyes and I slipped away.”

From 1978-79, I lived in Rhode Island, which brought a whole new spectrum of songs into my life. Perhaps I’ll share those in the future…

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

