Just when I thought it was safe to go out…

I feel like a "band babe" again... :-)
I feel like a “band babe” again… ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks, Sis!

This is kinda funny. To me. I haven’t been out to see a band in concert since the summer of 2006. That year, I ventured out to the Nissan Pavilion (now called “Jiffy Lube Live”) to see Roger Waters performย The Dark Side of the Moon Live… and a handful of some of his other works.

I have a few specific memories about that night: 1) the long walk from the parking lot to the actual venue; 2) the talkative people smoking an illegal substance in the vicinity of my seat; 3) the other talkative couple standing directly in front of me the entire night (and, yes, I stood up, too… but I am smaller than they were, so I was still at a disadvantage); 4) I was so hungry that when “intermission” came, I went to get some fries to fill me up a little so I could make it through the show without swooning. (It was a hot night in September, I believe.) Naturally, therefore, I was not in my seat when Roger actually started playing DSOTM, which threw me off for the rest of the show; and 5) I had to search high and low for the pair of tickets I’d purchased months earlier, because someone (who shall remain nameless) had lost them. I finally came across them the night before the show. They were behind the living room sofa on the floor. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

[I have just realized I’m slightly mistaken about not having seen any other concerts between now and then. I did go see my friend Mark’s band play a couple of years ago at an open air shopping plaza.]

ANYWAY….

Last night, I enjoyed the pleasure of my sister’s company when she surprised me with a night out at Celebrate Fairfax!. It seems that one of the previously scheduled B-52s girls had taken ill and cancelled their appearance. When my sister discovered that Third Eye Blind would be taking their place, she decided that was the night to go to the festival… and she kindly took me with her.

Now… our weather being a bit unpredictable lately (it rained all day Friday), I decided to simply wear jeans and a long-sleeved T-shirt — even though it was still warm out. I figured by the time the sun disappeared, I’d be grateful for the sleeves… and I turned out to be right. ๐Ÿ™‚ The reason I’m pointing out what I wore is because you’d think it was “normal”, right? Jeans and a T-shirt — nothing provocative there.

But you’d be wrong. Well, when there are drunken men around, anyway.

Ya see… my sister and I were lucky enough to get to the main stage at the festival about an hour before showtime (which actually turned out to be an hour-and-a-half before showtime). There were only a handful of people there already staking out their own places: two young women who looked to be in their post-college mid-20s… and a man with pale blond “Matthew McConaughey” type hair whose nose was a little sunburned and he was dressed in such a way that suggested he had likely grown up around a beach…. He was with a woman with a simple, no-makeup, smiles-a-lot look whose brunette hair was swept back in a ponytail. They were a very pleasant, funny couple to pass the time with. Until their drunk friend arrived.

Apparently, like me, he hadn’t been out in a while. I know this, because not only did the man and woman tell me this about him, but he himself proceeded to tell me a few more times — coming ever nearer toward (and then into) my personal space. I don’t know what the cause of his prior reclusiveness had been, but it was also mentioned that he was very shy in real life. However, that mattered little when he began to put his hands on me.

Now, had he not been drunk… or had I found him remotely attractive… or had he been even vaguely gentlemanly like his blond male friend… the aforementioned offense likely would not have registered as noteworthy. However, he was wobbling with every step he took, standing increasingly closer to me, until he was leaning against me, testing me by poking and prodding my arms, back, hips… until I finally turned to him and — as pleasantly as possible so as not to ruin an evening that had only just begun — firmly told him in no uncertain terms, “You need to back off.” He didn’t.

Instead, he slurred, “I’m sorry I touched you,” while simultaneously placing his arm around my shoulders. “No, seriously, don’t do that,” I reminded him. His response was using one finger to poke at me again… all the while with his face waaaay too close to mine. Oh… and I forgot to mention that he told me I look like an actress he saw in “that movie about the bachelor”. I have no idea what movie he was talking about, but as it turned out, I reminded him of a stripper.

This is why I told you what I was wearing: jeans and a T-shirt… ?ย  :-\

The brunette woman, laughing, tried to smooth things over by telling me I looked like Kimberly Williams (the bride in Father of the Bride). She’s cute, so I took it as a compliment… and I also love the made-for-TV movie she was in with Patrick Dempsey a few years back called Lucky 7. (This is my favorite scene.) Side note: I heart Patrick, and not just because he’s a Capricorn! ๐Ÿ™‚

Meanwhile, back at the fair…

During the awkward exchange with Mr. I’m Drunk (which lasted maybe an hour), the young post-college girls were having a ball together, in their own little world, while the blond man and brunette woman were laughing at their friend’s behavior. Finally, they both seemed to realize their friend was going just a little too far. Probably because the guy told them, “This night sucks. I can’t get anywhere here.” “What are you talking about?” they asked. “Me,” I told them. Which made them laugh all the more at him; however, the woman did kindly trade places with him so that he was no longer standing directly behind me.

At last! A little peace and quiet without the fear of a cup of beer being poured down my back. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Mind you, every time I turned around, the guy was staring at me and daring himself to reach out and touch me again.

sigh

Did I mention the cute roadie with the pretty blue-ish eyes who (I think) tried to speak to me from the stage at one point, but since it was so loud, I couldn’t hear him or make out what he was saying… or tell if he was actually speaking to me. I imagined he was attempting to ask me, “Is that guy bothering you? Because if he’s bothering you, I can do something about it.” But who knows… Anyway, that was the highlight of the moment… until the show actually started.

In the end, I somehow managed to acquire a wristband from a security guard who was passing them out to a lucky few in the front row after the show, which allowed my sister and I to go “backstage” and “meet and greet” a couple of the band members (Stephan Jenkins and the bass player whose name may have been Alex…?). This experience lasted 10 minutes or less. But… it was a fun way to end the evening. Similar to the two twenty-something girls, I got the band boys’ autographs and a hot, sweaty, non-committal hug from each one. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yea!

And so ended another day of my “semi-charmed kind of life”.ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

I have no idea what happened to the drunk guy, but I hope he has spent today recovering. My guess is that he has very few memories about last night. ๐Ÿ˜‰

PS: My favorite Third Eye Blind song.

2 thoughts on “Just when I thought it was safe to go out…

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

