So take this broken wing…

Well, yet again, I haven’t been writing much lately… for a good (and bad) reason. It’s because a couple of months ago, my right arm — the one I use for just about everything — was damaged. :-\  How? Well, ya see, I took my dog for a walk.

Muncie, May 2012
Look at those big, sweet, loving eyes. Do they look like they belong to a doggie that would drag me all around my neighborhood at top speed just because he was so excited to get out and see the world?

Sigh.

Not to complain or anything …

Mr. Muncie Bear (a.k.a. Big Bear) is precious; the strong silent type. (Did I mention he’s strong?) And I feel horrible for not being able to walk him regularly these days, but I’m still in recovery mode. Even sitting still too long can increase the pain. (Argh.)

So, what exactly is wrong? Well, the injury involves my shoulder (rotator cuff and neck), my upper arm, my elbow (<<this is the worst!), my lower arm and my fingers. (Yep. That’s pretty much my entire arm.)

I have been told I have a very high tolerance for pain, so the following numbers may not pertain to your own sense of pain. Who knows. Anyway… on “good days,” my pain/discomfort/annoyance is only about a 2 on a scale of 1-10. Those are days I really need to watch out because if I get over-confident and actually USE my arm for something, I pay for it with a pain level of about 8 or 9 over the next few days.

Today, I’m at a 2, which is why I am able to type an actual paragraph as opposed to a mere sentence. Not too long ago (a few weekends), however, I was at a 20 on the 1-10 scale. Now, that was not fun. In fact, the pain was so intense that I thought maybe after another 127 hours, I might have to take drastic measures. (No, I’d never really do that, but… gosh that hurt!)

The thing is, every time I bent my elbow a certain way, two seconds later the entire arm would fall asleep. It got to the point where I couldn’t put on makeup or brush my hair for a couple of weeks. Which, of course, meant that I started to feel really ugly and useless. 😛

Thank goodness those days are behind me (as long as I keep taking care of myself). Now, most of the feeling has returned to my hand (there were many days when my hand was tingly); only the very tip of my pointer finger is still a little numb. (Try pushing on something with a numb finger. Not only can you not feel what you’re touching, but the pressure you exert also somehow manages to hurt you. How odd.)

Oh, guess what else. I had an allergic reaction to the medicine I was given by my doctor. What fun that was, on top of everything else.

Meanwhile, if you happen to see me with my arm straight up in the air, it’s not because I want to ask you a question. I am simply trying to get some feeling back in my arm.

QUICK UPDATE, 6/22: Last night, whilst vacuuming up dog hair, I managed to knock over a full box of 12×12 Italian stone tile onto my right big toe… so now that is bruised, as well. Sigh. (BTW, I specified “Italian” not to be pretentious; only to indicate what I’m dealing with.)

Anyway… that’s where I’ve been lately. And, by the way, I still love my big sweetheart of a dog, in case you were wondering. He’s a keeper! 🙂

Your thoughts? Anyone, anyone....

